

Canadian human rights commission Commission canadienne des droits de la personne

> Direct Line / ligne directe: 613-290-9675 613-296-4390 Facsimile / télécopieur: (613) 993-3089 Email / courriel: <u>anshumala.juyal@chrc-ccdp.gc.ca</u> <u>khizer.pervez@chrc-ccdp.gc.ca</u>

VIA EMAIL

June 23, 2025

Judy Dubois Registry Operations Canadian Human Rights Tribunal 240 Sparks Street, 6th Floor West Ottawa, ON K1A 1J4

Dear Panel:

Re: FNCFCSC and AFN v AGC (T1340/7008) Commission's position on CSSSPNQL and APNQL interested party status motion

Consistent with the Commission's letter of May 9, 2025, we take no position on the joint motion for interested party status of the Commission de la santé et des services sociaux des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (CSSSPNQL) and the Assemblée des Premières Nations Québec-Labrador (APNQL).

Sincerely,

Anshumala Juyal and Khizer Pervez Counsel for the Commission

CC Dayna Anderson, Paul Vickery, Kevin Staska, Sarah-Dawn Norris, Sarah Bird, Jon Khan, Meg Jones, Aman Owais and Alicia Dueck-Read *Counsel for the Respondent, Attorney General of Canada*

David Taylor, Sarah Clarke, Logan Stack, Kiana Saint-Macary and Robin McLeod *Counsel for the Caring Society*

Peter N. Mantas, Gabrielle Cyr and Tina Sun Counsel for the co-Complainant, Assembly of First Nations

Maggie Wente and Jessie Stirling-Voss Counsel for the Interested Party, Chiefs of Ontario Julian Falconer, Asha James, Shelby Pervival, Jordan Tully and Meaghan Daniel *Counsel for the Interested Party, Nishnawbe Aski Nation*

Justin Safayeni, Stephen Aylward and Taskeen Nawab Counsel for the Interested Party, Amnesty International

Carly Fox and Jodie Currie *Counsel for the Moving Party, Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs*

Daniel Goudge and Alexandra Heine Counsel for the Moving Party, Our Children Our Way

Kaelan Unrau Counsel for the Moving Party, Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations

Karey Brooks Counsel for the Moving Parties, Taykwa Tagamou Nation and Chippewas of Georgina Island

Aria Laskin and Maya Ollek Counsel for the Moving Party

Aaron Christoff Counsel for the Moving Party, Confederacy of Treaty Six First Nation

Chief Jake Caplin and Shawn Boucher Representatives of the Moving Party, Ugpi'ganijg (Eel River Bar) First Nation

Harold Cochrane and Alyssa Cloutier Counsel for the Moving Party, Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta

Neqotkuk Chief Ross Perley Representative of the Moving Party, Neqotkuk (Tobique) First Nation of the Wolastoqey Nation

Roy T. Stewart and Alexandra L. Strang Counsel for the Moving Party, Mi'gmaq Child and Family Services of New Brunswick Inc.

Amy Many Heads Representative of the Moving Party, Treaty 7 Nations Chief Association

Pierre Simon Cleary and Leila Ben Messaoud Ouellet Counsel for the Moving Parties, First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission and Assembly of First Nations Quebec-Labrador